FiteraKahunas branded app

What does the Kahunas branded app cost, and what do you get?

By Max Litvinov, founder of Fitera
Updated · Prices checked Sep 2026 · 9 min read

Kahunas puts branded iOS and Android apps in your own App Store and Google Play listings only on Ultimate: $99 a month or $900 a year, unlimited clients. It takes no commission and says "99% of all apps live within 30 days". You need your own Apple developer account and a Google organization account with a D‑U‑N‑S number.

This page is for coaches already on Kahunas, or pricing it up, who want an app in the stores under their own name. It walks through the plans, the launch checklist, a year of costs and your exit terms.

Verdict

Ultimate at $99 a month is the cheapest published way to your own App Store and Google Play pages that we found. Above 50 clients it is Kahunas's only plan anyway. The catch: its pages don't say what becomes of the app once you cancel.

On this page · 10 sections
  1. The three plans
  2. What launch needs
  3. Cost at your size
  4. What you get and don't
  5. When you leave
  6. When it's the right choice
  7. Other platforms' apps
  8. Or your own app
  9. Questions coaches ask
  10. Sources and method

Essentials, Growth and Ultimate, side by side

Kahunas sells three plans, and one of them comes with an app under your name. Clients on the other two download Kahunas's own app.

Disclosure

We run Fitera, which builds branded apps for a revenue share. So we profit when a coach picks an alternative to Kahunas. The facts here come from kahunas.io and its help centre, read on 15 Sep 2026 and linked under Sources and method.

Kahunas's three plansUSD. Checked 15 Sep 2026.

Kahunas's Essentials, Growth and Ultimate plans compared by price, client limit, the app clients use and store listings
FeatureEssentialsGrowthUltimate
Monthly$35$69$99
Yearly$315$621$900
ClientsUp to 25Up to 50Unlimited
App your clients download"Kahunas iOS App" and "Kahunas Android App"Kahunas's apps, as on Essentials"Your Own Branded iOS App" and Android app
Your own store listingsNot listedNot listedYes: "Your Own App Store Listings"
Commission on your salesNoneNoneNone

Ultimate also includes extensions, which the plan list calls a "$15/MO VALUE". Kahunas has no pricing page of its own: the plans sit on its home page. Its terms take payment in USD, GBP or EUR.

“I think white label matters more as you grow. Having your own name, logo and colors makes the whole coaching experience feel a lot more professional.”

A comment on r/personaltraining, 15 Aug 2026

What you need before the app goes live

The FAQ on Kahunas's home page says "All you need is an Apple developer account". Its help articles ask for more, mostly for the Android app. Here is the full list, in order.

  1. Apple

    Your own Apple developer account

    "Apple requires you to have your own Apple Developer account", the help centre explains. Apple bills $99 a year for it. Kahunas then publishes the app "under your ownership".

  2. Google

    A Google Developer Organization account

    Personal Google accounts won't do: "our service only supports organization accounts". Google charges $25 once to register.

  3. Before Google

    A D‑U‑N‑S number, so a registered business

    Kahunas is blunt: "a DUNS number is mandatory, which means you would need to register your business first".

  4. Before Android launch

    A website of your own

    For Google Play, "you'll need to have your own website set up".

  5. Access

    Kahunas joins both accounts as Admin

    You add Kahunas as "Admin" on your Apple team and your Google Play team. Then you supply the "app title, and bio" and pick your brand colour.

  6. Within 30 days

    Kahunas publishes the app

    "We get 99% of all apps live within 30 days." Its pages give no separate time for Google Play approval.

Selling in the app

Kahunas asks for "at least one in-app purchase as it is required by Apple". On those sales, "Apple takes a 30% commission". Kahunas itself takes none.

What it costs at 25, 50, 100 and 250 clients

Ultimate costs the same at any client count. So the useful number is the gap between Ultimate and the plan your roster needs anyway.

Monthly cost of the Kahunas branded app by client countUSD, monthly billing, before Apple's $99 a year and Google's $25 once. Checked 15 Sep 2026.

Monthly price of Kahunas's Ultimate plan, which includes the branded app and your own store listings, at 25, 50, 100 and 250 clients, against the cheapest plan without it
Plan25 clients50 clients100 clients250 clients
Branded apps (Ultimate)$99$99$99$99
Your own listings (Ultimate)$99$99$99$99
Cheapest plan without the app$35 Essentials$69 Growth$99 Ultimate$99 Ultimate
Extra for the app$64$30$0$0

Essentials stops at 25 clients and Growth at 50. Past 50, Ultimate is the only plan, so the app comes at no extra cost. No setup fee for the app is mentioned on Kahunas's pages.

Year one on Ultimate, store fees included, depends on billing. Monthly, 12 × $99 plus Apple's $99 and Google's $25 comes to $1,312. Yearly, $900 plus the same $124 is $1,024, which saves $288.

What you get, and what stays with Kahunas

Your store pages carry "your logo, name, description", and Kahunas says "it's 100% yours". Inside, the app is Kahunas's coaching app in your logo and colours.

What you get

  • Branded iOS and Android apps, on Ultimate only
  • Your own App Store and Google Play pages
  • Both listings in developer accounts in your name
  • Payments into your own Stripe or PayPal, with no Kahunas cut
  • Unlimited clients, plus the plan's extensions

What stays Kahunas's, or isn't stated

  • The app's features, which are Kahunas's
  • Admin rights on your Apple and Google Play teams
  • Access to your stored data, which ends if the account is terminated
  • Not stated: the name under the icon, or a client export tool

Payments run through "Stripe and PayPal only". Coming from another platform? Kahunas says "we don't currently have a way to import previous data".

What happens when you cancel Kahunas

The home page promises you can cancel "no questions asked". Kahunas's terms add the fine print:

Its pages don't say what happens next to the app, your clients or their payments. The two listings sit in your own developer accounts. Whether the app inside them keeps working is not stated.

No client export tool is mentioned either. Ask Kahunas how to take your data with you before the last paid term ends.

When Kahunas's app is the right choice

Often it is, mainly on price. Look for your situation below.

Your own listings, lowest price
Ultimate at $99 a month is the lowest published price for your own store listings among the nine platforms we checked.
More than 50 clients
Ultimate is the only plan that fits, so the app is free on top. At 250 clients, $99 works out under 40 cents a client each month.
Testing the water
Kahunas offers a 14-day free trial. Monthly plans can be refunded within the first 7 days.
No need for a listing yet
Essentials at $35 or Growth at $69 keep clients in Kahunas's own app.
A feature set for your method
Kahunas decides what its app does. For features of your own, read the three routes further down.

“The honest answer is your clients do not care what the app is called. They care whether you respond fast, program well, and help them see progress.”

A comment on r/personaltraining, 30 Jul 2026

Branded apps on other coaching platforms

The label "branded app" hides very different products. We wrote a page for each of these:

Or your own app: builder, agency or partner

Disclosure

Fitera is our company. We are a revenue-share partner, one of the three routes below, and we earn from it.

A platform app is the cheapest way to put your logo on clients' phones. Your own app is a different product. Its features follow your method, and it lives in your accounts.

No-code builder
You build and run the app yourself, for a monthly fee. Our guide to creating your own fitness app compares them.
Agency build
A fitness MVP costs about $50,000 to $110,000, and you can own the code. See what a fitness app costs.
Revenue-share partner
$0 up front. Fitera builds and runs the app and keeps 30% to 50% of net revenue. Stripe and the store accounts are in your name.

We partner with creators from about 20,000 followers with high engagement, after a call. Below that, a platform app is usually the better deal. Apply with the 2-minute form.

Questions coaches ask

How much is the Kahunas branded app?

$99 a month, as part of Ultimate, or $900 billed yearly. Essentials and Growth don't list it. Apple's $99 a year and Google's $25 once come on top.

Does Kahunas take a commission?

No. Its FAQ says "we do not charge your clients directly or take any commission", and payments go to your own Stripe or PayPal. Sales made inside the iPhone app pay Apple's 30%.

Do I need a D‑U‑N‑S number for Kahunas?

Yes, for the Android app. Kahunas supports only Google organization accounts, and its help centre calls the D‑U‑N‑S number mandatory. Its home page FAQ mentions only the Apple account.

How long does a Kahunas app take?

Up to 30 days in most cases: "We get 99% of all apps live within 30 days." Its pages don't say whether that includes getting your D‑U‑N‑S number and developer accounts.

Can clients pay inside the Kahunas app?

Yes, through Apple's in-app purchase, which Kahunas says Apple requires. Apple keeps 30% of those sales. Outside the app, clients pay through your Stripe or PayPal.

Sources and method

We read every fact on Kahunas's own site and help centre on 15 September 2026. Other vendors' and review sites' claims about Kahunas were left out. Prices are USD, as Kahunas lists them.

Where Kahunas's pages disagree, we show both. The home FAQ says "All you need is an Apple developer account"; the help articles add a Google organization account, a D‑U‑N‑S number and a website.

Plan lists say "save 25%" on yearly billing. For Ultimate, $900 against 12 × $99 = $1,188 is 24.2% off. The home page's "no questions asked" cancellation sits beside the terms' 48-hour notice.

Year one: monthly is 12 × $99 + $99 (Apple) + $25 (Google) = $1,312. Yearly is $900 + $124 = $1,024. The cost table's last row subtracts the cheapest plan that fits from Ultimate.

Product names are trademarks of their owners. No vendor paid for or reviewed this page.

Want an app of your own?

Tell us about your audience and the app you have in mind. We reply personally, including when a platform app suits you better.

Apply: 2-minute form

No commitment · no upfront fee · we read every application

↑ Contents